Wednesday, July 17, 2024

Penumbral eclipse March 24 and solar eclipse April 8 2024

solar eclipse lincoln city
(photo courtesy Justin Werner)

According to earthsky.org A penumbral lunar eclipse – lasting over four hours – will occur overnight on March 24-25, 2024. It will be visible from Japan, the eastern half of Australia, the Americas, the western half of Africa, western Europe – and several oceans and parts of Antarctica.
Timeanddate.com call for a total solar eclipse over the United States April 8, 2024. Visit timeanddate.com to get an exact timing of the eclipse from your location.

From Earthsky.org,

“Penumbral eclipse begins at 4:53 UTC on March 25, 2024. That is 11:53 p.m. CDT on March 24 in North America.
Greatest eclipse is at 7:12 UTC on March 25 (2:12 a.m. CDT) with a penumbral magnitude of 0.9577. In other words, at greatest eclipse, nearly all of the moon will be inside the Earth’s outer penumbral shadow. The moon will never go into Earth’s darker umbral shadow. So it will never seem as if a dark bite has been taken out of the moon. Instead, it’ll be a subtle darkened shading on the moon, and, at mid-eclipse, only a small sliver of the moon will fall outside this dark shading.
Penumbral eclipse ends at 9:33 UTC on March 25 (4:33 a.m. CDT).
Duration of eclipse: This is a deep penumbral lunar eclipse with a duration of 279.9 minutes.
Note: A penumbral lunar eclipse is the most subtle kind of lunar eclipse, one that most people won’t even notice. Some people say the moon’s shadow won’t be detected until the disk of the moon is immersed in about 2/3 of the penumbral shadow. On the other hand, others notice it right away. It depends on how observant they are, atmospheric conditions and a person’s visual acuity.”

Don Williams
Don Williamshttps://lincolncityhomepage.com
Don Williams serves as publisher and editor of The Lincoln City Homepage.

1 COMMENT

LEAVE A COMMENT

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Lincoln City Homepage - Lincoln City News

NEWSLETTER

Popular stories delivered directly to your inbox.

Related articles

Beach Equipment Rental

client-image
spot_img

Lanscaping/Excavation

client-image

Taskers Timber & Construction

client-image

spot_img

Trending

spot_img
spot_img

Latest articles