Sunday, July 14, 2024

Local law enforcement personnel honored for commitment to community

The 23rd annual Lincoln County Law Enforcement Recognition Banquet was held on Friday, May 17, at the Salishan Resort to honor local law enforcement for its work, dedication and commitment to serving the citizens of Lincoln County.

Agency Awards: The following agency awards were presented:

  • Lincoln County District Attorney’s Office:
    • Deputy District Attorney of the Year:       Deputy District Attorney Lanee Danforth
    • Support Staff of the Year:                       Investigator Martin Bennett
  • Lincoln County Sheriff’s Office:
    • Volunteer of the Year:                           Peter Benjamin
    • Outstanding Service Award:                    Lieutenant Adam Shanks
    • Patrol Deputy of the Year:                      Deputy Cody Tadlock
    • Corrections Deputy of the Year:               Deputy Zach Fierro
  • Newport Police Department:
    • Officer of the Year:                               Officer Aaron Bales
  • Lincoln City Police Department:
    • Non-Sworn Officer of the Year:                Code Enforcement Officer Craig Grabenhorst
    • Officer of the Year:                               Senior Officer Logan Smith
    • 30 Years of Service Award:                     Detective Bud Lane
    • 35 Years of Service Recognition:              911 Dispatcher Mark Hopkins
    • DRE Recognition Award:                         DRE Oscar Escalante
  • Oregon State Police:
    • Employee of the Year:                           Trooper David Wertz
  • Toledo Police Department:
    • Officer of the Year:                               Detective Aaron Pitcher
    • Volunteer of the Year:                           Kate Enyeart
    • Chief Award:                                        Chief David Enyeart
  • Lincoln County Community Justice:
    • Outstanding Service Award:                              Work Crew Foreman Steve Britt
    • Excellence & Teamwork Award:               Parole & Probation Officer Ken Krause
    • Making a Difference Award:                    Parole & Probation Officer Krista Lauer
  • WVCC:
    • Call Taker / Dispatcher of the Year:                  Seth Dunham
    • Employee of the Year:                           Kathy Bavaro

DUII and MIP Enforcement Awards: 

The Partnership Against Alcohol and Drug Abuse (PAADA) presented this year’s DUII Enforcers of the Year awards to Officer Hayden Tolzman (Lincoln City Police Department), Deputy Cody Tadlock (Lincoln County Sheriff’s Office), Officer Calvin Davis (Newport Police Department), Trooper David Wertz (Oregon State Police), and Officer Michael Henderson (Toledo Police Department).

2019 Inductee into the Lincoln County Law Enforcement Hall of Honor:

The evening closed with this year’s induction into the Lincoln County Law Enforcement Hall of Fame, the highest honor bestowed on a member of the Lincoln County law enforcement community.

Each year a selection is made by the LERB Committee, which consists of members from each agency, and represents a broad spectrum of law enforcement professions. The award is symbolized with a permanent plaque placed in the hallway of the first floor of the Lincoln County Courthouse.

Past recipients of the award have included Mike Hart, Trish Miller, Dennis Dotson, Rob Bovett, Mark Fandry, Larry Ballinger, Ernie Hansen, Ralph Turre, Maria Waldrip, John Meister, Christy Meister, Mike Menzies, Vangie Eisenbarth, Dave Bavarro, John O’Brien, Mark Huber, Jim Rivers, Maureen “Mo” Kelly, Mike Holden, Dan Glode, Bill Shawver, Pete Peregrin, Jim Hatch, Jim Hawley, Steve Tolliver, Larry Spencer.

Denis Bosque has been in law enforcement for 35 years. He started his law enforcement career at the Maryland County Sheriff’s Office in 1973, the Lincoln County Sheriff’s Office in 1984, became the Chief of Siletz in 2003, and finished his paid career in 2008 with the Toledo Police Department.  To this day, he volunteers his time, his vast knowledge, and expertise to the young officers of the Toledo Police Department. Today we are here to honor Denis Bosque as this year’s Hall of Honor recipient.

Bosque started his law enforcement career in 1973 at the Montgomery County Sheriff’s Office in Maryland. He spent 5 years there before he decided to go West!  In 1984, he joined the Lincoln County Sheriff’s Office as a Property/Records Clerk. Within a year he was promoted to Civil Deputy. This was not a very prestigious job but Denis was eager to come to work every day and do his job. He was very thorough and he did it with so much energy that he was soon promoted to Patrol Deputy in 1987.

He received awards from the public, District Attorney’s Office, Sheriff’s Department, and a special award from Governor Barbara Roberts for his contribution on behalf of crime victims. He was a member of Lincoln County Interagency Narcotics Team and the Major Crime Team. He developed a great rapport with the family of the victims in the Christian Longo case which helped them as they navigated this difficult time. Denis Bosque was instrumental in developing solid connections with the Toledo Police Department to maintain police presence in the Siletz area. As we all know this helped the citizens of Lincoln County stay a little bit safer.


News Release
News Release
This information was provided for dissemination to our readers via an outside agency.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Lincoln City Homepage - Lincoln City News


Popular stories delivered directly to your inbox.

Related articles

Beach Equipment Rental




Taskers Timber & Construction





Latest articles